Skip to content

Suing the Movies

March 7, 2012

Popcorn icon

I am a college student and I am on a tight budget when it comes to spending money on entertainment.  One of my favorite things to do is going to the theaters to see a movie.  Ticket prices aren’t cheap and the concession stand prices are absolutely ridiculous!  Popcorn and candy are very overpriced and always have been.

I recently read and watched a short clip on Yahoo’s webpage that explained how Joshua Thompson is actually filing a lawsuit against movie theaters, stating that consumers can’t handle the high prices.  Are you kidding me?  I started laughing when I read this.  To me, this lawsuit is unbelievable and I don’t see how it will stand a chance in court.

Last week  I read Matt Haddix’s blog, “These are some Sue Crazy Cats” , which talked about crazy cases of people trying to sue.  I think this falls into this category.  Here is someone trying to get some money over something that has been happening for a very long time.  Going to the movies is a choice!  Let me repeat that, a CHOICE!!  No one is forcing Joshua to go to the movies, he wants to go for the entertainment.

Lets just play along and say someone is forcing him to go to the movies.  I go to the movies all the time and I hardly ever buy popcorn or candy there.  Why, do you ask?  Because I do think that concession items are overpriced and I don’t want to spend the cash on that.  I’d rather save that money and put it towards another movie next time I come.  Even if he HAD to go to the movies, he doesn’t have to buy from their concession stands! No one else does either!

Movie theaters charge that much because people do buy it.  This is the United States.  They have the choice to choose how much to sell their product for!  Airports and ski resorts are the same way, its supply and demand.  They know you’re not going to buy it anywhere else so they jack the prices up.  That is just smart business.  Any thoughts or comments?  Feel free to discuss!

3/7/12

From → SPC 213

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

